Was Abe Lincon a Christian?

estock_commonswiki_234086_l.jpgSomeone once asked Mr. Lincoln whether he was a Christian, and he replied, “When I left Springfield, I asked the people to pray for me; I was not a Christian. When I buried my son, the severest trial of my life, I was not a Christian. But when I saw the graves of thousands of our soldiers, I then and there conscerated myself to Christ. I do love Jesus.”

From Words of Lincoln, by O.H. Oldroyd

9 Responses to Was Abe Lincon a Christian?

  1. skubalon says:

    I have read a lot on Lincoln. I love the man. A great mind wrapped in the look of ignorance. I love how he made his staff thing he was a bumbler and then would pull the rug out from under them. He had a humor that only he could understand.

    Was he a Christian? Wow that is such a hard question. He like Washington, RE Lee, and many other idolized figures have been over done.

    There is equal proof for both answers. So we will never know on this side of the plane. He did show moments and belief but at times not. His wife Mary Todd is equally hidden in mystery. She would hire mediums to talk to her dead son.

    But no less very interesting.

    Check out Lincoln by David Herbert Donald

  2. billphillips says:

    Skubalon,

    The place where I found this quote also has some stories from a book called “Abraham Lincoln, the Christian” by W.J. Johnstone. It includes some amazing stories, and if true, there would be little doubt that he became a Christian within the last few years of his life.

    I think many people have an agenda to make sure the founding fathers weren’t Christians. From some of what I’ve read about them, many of them make me emberrassed at my lack of discipline and zeal.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  3. Julie says:

    I like that quote, and this post. Do you have the link where you found it? I’d love to read more.

  4. billphillips says:

    Julie,

    I actually read it in a book, and just typed it out. It was on a completely different topic, but a good place to find interesting quotes from presidents and founding fathers is wallbuilders.com .

    Thanks for your comment.

    Bill

  5. Julie says:

    Wow! Thanks for the link.

  6. skubalon says:

    Bill,

    I have noticed there is an equal agenda that wants to make every founding father a christian to push that side. But the fact of the matter is many of them were Godly in the sense that their sense of moral compass was toward Judeo-Christian beliefs but not outright Christian.

    As far as them outshining you, I would contest that as well. Washington owned slaves and had a very profitable distillery at Mt. Vernon. Both activities that would make most Christians write him off as a monster.

    Not being argumenative just thoughts. Glad you brought it up.

  7. the8thperson says:

    Hey Bill,
    Went to Washington D.C. almost a month ago and had the opportunity to see the Lincoln Memorial. The same question was running around in my head. His words seemed to be so thought out and it appears that they were filtered through scripture. I’m looking forward to checking out that book that you mentioned.

    Skubalon,
    Would like to see some references to the Washington distillery thing. What type of distillery was it?

  8. billphillips says:

    8th,

    I got the quote from a book that quoted the book by Oldroyd. It was on a different subject altogether, but it also quoted from “Abraham Lincoln, the Christian” by W.J. Johnstone published by Abingdon Press, 1913. That book apparently says when he was president, he would go down to the kitchen in the White House and witness to the staff.

    Thanks,
    Bill

Leave a comment