How Many Gods Are There?

Jehovah’s Witnesses and Mormons tinker with redefining who Jesus is, and get themselves in a lot of trouble. They pretend to be biblical, but have to disregard so many verses to carry on with their misunderstandings. When you mess with who Jesus is, many times one of the first side effects is that you are no longer a monotheist. 

Both Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses are rabid polytheists, but the Bible is so clear on the topic from beginning to end. I found 33 verses showing that there is only one God. If anyone knows of any that I haven’t included, please feel free to leave a comment.

Deuteronomy 6:4 “Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD”

Deuteronomy 32:39 “See now that I myself am He! There is no god besides me. I put to death and I bring to life, I have wounded and I will heal, and no one can deliver out of my hand.”
 
1 Samuel 2:2 “There is no one holy like the LORD; there is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.”

2 Samuel 7:22 “How great you are, O Sovereign LORD! There is no one like you, and there is no God but you, as we have heard with our own ears.”

1 Kings 8:23 “O LORD, God of Israel, there is no God like you in heaven above or on earth below—you who keep your covenant of love with your servants who continue wholeheartedly in your way.”

2 Kings 5:15 “Then Naaman and all his attendants went back to the man of God. He stood before him and said, “Now I know that there is no God in all the world except in Israel. Please accept now a gift from your servant.”

1 Chronicles 17:20 “There is no one like you, O LORD, and there is no God but you, as we have heard with our own ears.”

2 Chronicles 6:14 “He said: “O LORD, God of Israel, there is no God like you in heaven or on earth—you who keep your covenant of love with your servants who continue wholeheartedly in your way.”

Psalm 86:10 “For you are great and do marvelous deeds; you alone are God.”

Isaiah 43:10 “You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “and my servant whom I have chosen, so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor will there be one after me.”

Isaiah 44:6 “This is what the LORD says—Israel’s King and Redeemer, the LORD Almighty: I am the first and I am the last; apart from me there is no God.

Isaiah 44:8 “Do not tremble, do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago? You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.”

Isaiah 45:5 “I am the LORD, and there is no other; apart from me there is no God. I will strengthen you, though you have not acknowledged me”

Isaiah 45:14 “…’Surely God is with you, and there is no other; there is no other god.”

Isaiah 45:18 “…I am the LORD, and there is no other.”

Isaiah 45:21 “…And there is no God apart from me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but me.”

Isaiah 45:22 “Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other.”

Isaiah 46:8-9 “Remember this, fix it in mind, take it to heart, you rebels. Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is
none like me.”

Malachi 2:10 “Have we not all one Father? Did not one God create us? Why do we profane the covenant of our fathers by breaking faith with one another?”

Mark 12:29 “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one.”

Mark 12:32 “Well said, teacher,” the man replied. “You are right in saying that God is one and there is no other but him.”

John 1:14 “The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.”

John 5:44 “How can you believe if you accept praise from one another, yet make no effort to obtain the praise that comes from the only God?”

John 17:3 “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.”

Romans 3:30 “since there is only one God, who will justify the circumcised by faith and the uncircumcised through that same faith.”

1 Corinthians 8:4 “We know that an idol is nothing at all in the world and that there is no God but one.”

Galatians 3:20 “A mediator, however, does not represent just one party; but God is one.”

Ephesians 4:4-6 “There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to one hope when you were called— 5one Lord, one faith, one baptism; 6one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.”

1 Timothy 1:17 “Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.”

1 Timothy 2:5 “For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus”

James 2:19 “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”

I John 5:20 “We know also that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true. And we are in him who is true—even in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life.

Jude 1:25 “to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.”

12 Responses to How Many Gods Are There?

  1. TJ says:

    October 28th, 2007 at 12:56 pm
    billphillips Says: “I like NIV, KJV, and NKJV.”
    https://billphillips.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/is-jehovahs-witnesses-jesus-adequate/#comment-1821

    Exodus 7:1 (KJV), “And the LORD said unto Moses, See, I have made thee a god to Pharaoh.”

  2. Eric Nielson says:

    Alright, here we go again….

    I would be interested to see what you have to say about a few things.

    What of Steven seeing Jesus standing on the right hand of God?

    What of God saying from heaven ‘This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased’? at the baptism of Christ.

    Who was Christ praying to all those times? Himself?

    Why did Christ ask why his Father had forsaken Him on the cross?

    Why did he say ‘nevertheless, not as I will, but as thou wilt’ in his prayer in Gathsemane?

    Why did Christ say to Mary – Touch me not, for I have not yet assended to my Father’?

    This issue is not as cut and dried as you imply. You are once again neglecting many things in this post. All from the Bible.

  3. billphillips says:

    Eric,

    I don’t think you have a proper understanding of the trinity. There are three persons, and they make one God. Jesus isn’t the Father and is not the Holy Spirit. They can talk to each other. They can sit next to each other. They don’t overlap. They are one God in three persons. I realize it’s hard to understand, but I don’t understand how you can deny the clear monotheism of the Bible. You have to reconcile all of your objections with the fact that there is one God.

    I agree that it would be much easier to understand if the Father, Son and Holy Spirit were three Gods, but that just isn’t what’s taught. Is the goal of the Bible to make things easy to understand, or tell us the truth? Why do you reject all of these verses?

    On a different topic, I’ve been wondering what your definition of gospel is. I hear Mormons talking about that quite often, and they often use it in a different context than I would. I was hoping you could define it for me.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. silky says:

    if jesus is god who raised him in 3 days after he died ,

  5. billphillips says:

    Silky,

    Thanks for your comment. The Bible says Jesus raised Himself from the dead. It says the Father raised Him from the dead. It says the Holy Spirit raised Him from the dead.

    Father – “Paul, an apostle (not sent from men, nor through the agency of man, but through Jesus Christ, and God the Father, who raised Him from the dead),” (Gal. 1:1).

    Son – “Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up.” 20Then the Jews said, “It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and will You raise it up in three days?” 21But He was speaking of the temple of His body,” (John 2:19-21, see also John 10:17-18).

    The Holy Spirit – “But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who indwells you,” (Rom. 8:11).

    Does that answer your question?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  6. Eric Nielson says:

    Bill:

    Once again, I think if Mormons (like me) understood what people like you really believed, and if you understood what Mormons really believed we would see that we are not as different as we may think. There ARE differences for sure.

    Again, I do not believe there is any reconciliation necessary. There are several verses in the Book of Mormon that say the same thing as the verses you list. You seem to be the one that is having to reconcile your beliefs by saying more or less ‘I know it doesn’t make sense but it is how I interpret the Bible’. All I have to do is say that the oneness of God that the Bible (and other scripture) talks about is expressing the complete unity that they have with each other.

    There is a great prayer that Jesus offers. I believe it is commonly called the intercessory prayer, but he says something like – I would that you be one (speaking of the apostles) as I and my Father are one. I do not think this means that the apostles should have mysteriously become one being in a literal sense, but should be completely united.

    As far as the definition of gospel goes, I don;t have an official definition at my fingertips. It would generally be the teachings of Jesus Christ.

  7. billphillips says:

    Eric,

    Sometimes it’s hard to tell how different we are, but you believe we’re different enough for God to visit Joseph Smith and tell him that the Christians’ creeds are an abomination.

    I really don’t see how gods having unity makes them one God. I see how that might work to explain some of the verses above, but it just doesn’t work for most of them.

    Isaiah 43:10 says, “You are my witnesses,” declares the LORD, “and my servant whom I have chosen, so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor will there be one after me.”

    The LORD is saying there are no gods made before Him and none after Him. This includes perfected Mormons.

    I would say that the Gospel is defined in 1 Corinthians 15:1-4, and your definition needs to match up with that or Galatians 1:8-9 kicks in.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  8. Tracey says:

    I think you will find if you take a closer look at a Jehovah’s Witness Bible it is exactly the same as the King James version of the Bible, except from the way the words are written, way back when people used to speak differently, I.E. art, thou……etc Jehovahs Witness Bible it written in a way that we speak today and is a bit easier to understand.
    EVERYTHING you read in the Jehovah’s Witness Bible is accurate – compare King James version against it to see for yourself!!! Jehovah’s Witness DO NOT make any additions or remove anything in the bible, in there teachings they point out the quotation within the Bible which forbids these actions, I am not a Jehovah’s Witness but have had a lot of Bible studies from them and I KNOW that Jehovah’s Witness abide by EVERYTHING in the bible, not just acting on the easy bits and ignoring the other instructions, I’d like to say out of EVERY single religion in the world this is the only religion that accepts EVERY SINGLE INSTRUCTION WITHIN THE BIBLE AND ACTS ON IT.

  9. billphillips says:

    Tracey,

    Thanks for your comment.

    I have to say that I completely disagree. Just one example is Revelation 1:11. Jesus is clearly the Alpha and Omega, who in Revelation 1:8 is defined as the Lord Almighty. Just a couple other examples would be Acts 20:28 and Titus 2:13. There are entire verses just missing out of the NWT that are in the KJV.

    Get as far away from the JWs as you can. It’s a cult.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  10. Pilgrim says:

    I know I’m joining this discussion late, but I wanted to make those you reject the doctrine of the Trinity a little more confused (as understood by Bible-believing Christians, not three separate gods as Mormons teach).

    For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; and the government will rest on His shoulders; and His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9:6

    Now how can Jesus be both the Son and Mighty God and the Eternal Father? Some things just can’t be explained. If we could understand all the mysteries of God, we’d be equal to or greater than Him.

    – The Pilgrim
    from http://www.ReformationNation.net

  11. Bill says:

    Here’s a few additional verses I missed, taken from the list at http://defendingcontending.com/2010/10/23/are-there-more-gods-than-one/

    Deuteronomy 4:35, 39–35 Unto thee it was shown, that thou mightest know that the LORD he is God; there is none else beside him. 39 Know therefore this day, and consider it in thine heart, that the LORD he is God in heaven above, and upon the earth beneath: there is none else.

    1 Kings 8:60— That all the people of the earth may know that the LORD is God, and that there is none else.

    2 Kings 19:15— And Hezekiah prayed before the LORD, and said, O LORD God of Israel, which dwellest between the cherubims, thou art the God, even thou alone, of all the kingdoms of the earth; thou hast made heaven and earth.

    Nehemiah 9:6– Thou, even thou, art LORD alone; thou has made heaven, the heaven of heavens, with all their host, the earth, and all things that are therein, the seas, and all that is therein, and thou preservest them all; and the host of heaven worshippeth thee.

    Psalm 18:31– For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God?

    Isaiah 37:16;20– 16 LORD of hosts, God of Israel, that dwellest between the cherubims, thou art the God, even thou alone, of all the kingdoms of the earth: thou has made heaven and earth. 20 Now therefore, O LORD our God, save us from his hand, that all the kingdoms of the earth may know that thou art the LORD, even thou only.

    Hosea 13:4 — Yet I am the LORD thy God from the land of Egypt, and thou shalt know no god but me; for there is no savior beside me.

    Joel 2:27 — And ye shall know that I am in the midst of Israel, and that I am the LORD your God, and none else: and my people shall never be ashamed.

    Zechariah 14:9 — And the LORD shall be king over all the earth: in that day shall there be one Lord, and his name one.

  12. Bill says:

    Here’s an a partial list with all the books abbreviated. This list fits nicely in a Youtube comment box.

    Deut 6:4, Deut 32:39, 1 Sam 2:2, 2 Sam 7:22, 1 Kings 8:23, 2 Kings 5:15, 1 Chron 17:20, 2 Chron 6:14, Ps 86:10, Isa 43:10, Isa 44:6, 44:8, 45:5, 45:14, 45:18, 45:21, 45:22, 46:8-9, Mal 2:10, Mark 12:29, 12:32, John 1:14, 5:44, 17:3, Rom 3:30, 1 Co 8:4, Gal 3:20, Eph 4:4-6, 1 Tim 1:17, 2:5, James 2:19, 1 John 5:20, Jude 1:25

Leave a Reply

