Gay Christians?

I went to the gay pride parade in Pueblo, Colorado, to preach the gospel of Jesus Christ to anyone who would listen. There weren’t too many in attendance, and the 10 or 12 Christians I was with ran out of people to talk to within a couple of hours, but I noticed some interesting things.

I had a few conversations where people had little or no religious convictions and seemed to respond humbly to the gospel. A few times, after I struck up a conversation and then moved to spiritual topics, they would just walk away. But the conversations that were most frustrating and sad were the ones with people who claimed to be Christians.

I talked to a couple of teenagers standing near a family; I later found out it was the family of one of the teens. The teens and the family all claimed to be Christians who attend church every week. When I tried to explain the gospel to them, I found they didn’t have a very good understanding of it. As I talked to the father, the teens walked away before I was able to explain the gospel. After I said goodbye to the family, I walked toward the teens and started talking to them again. That’s when the mom interjected: “I don’t want you to make my son feel bad about being gay.” She told her son that he didn’t have to talk to me if he didn’t want to, but they were nice and let me finish explaining what Jesus did for us.

Later, I had a confusing conversation with a guy named Rob. He attended church, understood the gospel very well, and gave me a very good explanation of repentance. The odd part was that he kept joking that he was going to hell. I asked him if he was born again, and he said that he wasn’t interested in what modern Christianity has become. I quoted John 3:3 and tried to explain the whole born-again process, and left him saying that it didn’t matter what he thinks or what I think about born-again people. He needs to figure out what Jesus meant by born again, and make sure he is truly born again.

Matthew, who also claimed to be a Christian, was very talkative and honest about his experiences. He was also very self-righteous, and thought that he hadn’t sinned in a long time. He was a less conventional Christian than most. He believed that everyone was going to heaven—no matter what. I listened to him explain his ideas for quite a while, and then he, too, admitted he wasn’t born again. He didn’t have a Bible at home, so I gave him the gospel of John. I pointed John 3 out to him, and encouraged him to understand what Jesus meant by being born again.

There was also a church with a booth at the event. One of the other people I went with talked to the lesbian pastor. She believed that all people must do for salvation is ask Jesus into your heart. This church (apparently made up mostly of lesbians) later went up on stage and did a flag waving/tambourine routine accompanied by praise music.

I felt like I was mostly there to correct what some pastor has taught or is teaching to these people. Still, I believe I fell short in not telling those who claim the name of Jesus yet readily admit to being homosexual, and who could not be humbled by any of the other nine commandments to repent of their homosexuality. I was more concerned with not making a scene or offending them than I was with the truth.
 
I think that whatever we’ve been doing as American Christians to let people living a lifestyle of blatant sin (whether it’s homosexual sin, heterosexual sin, or anything else) to go on believing that they’re Christians and they’re OK with God must come to an end. Our silly, trite, modern gospel messages are giving people a false sense of security, and they have to stop. We’ve reduced the idea of God saving us down to praying a quick prayer (but really, really meaning it) and encouraging them to never question their salvation (which is very unbiblical advice; see 2 Corinthians 13:5).

27 Responses to Gay Christians?

  1. jeremiahandrews says:

    This is a battle that you aren’t going to win. Trying to get homosexuals to repent of their sins and come to Jesus, what an introduction to Christ! I happen to hold a degree in Religious Studies and I am a gay married man and I think you need to first remember that leading from Love is better than condemnation.

    I am just as much a Christian as You are. And God forgives me just as he forgives you. You aren’t going to cleanse the world of homosexuality, and surely you won’t win this argument with me on Gay Christians. Yes we do exist and we do pray and read the bible. Christianity must change and adapt to the times, or end in the ashes of its own arrogance and pride.

    And you know what they say about Pride…

    Just because we are gay, does not preclude us from sin, I believe that what is in ones heart is just as important if not more important that what comes from our lips. You can’t lead revival without first remembering the first great commandment.

    You shall love the Lord with all your heart, and all your strength and all your soul AND you shall love your neighbor as you love yourself. This is your starting point, lest you forget.

    I am Gay and I am Queer and I have a Degree in Religion, and I probably can tell you how many angels dance on the head of a pin much better than you ever will know. Go back to your bible and lead with Love. God doesn’t care what religion you are, as long as you are remember the WAY.

    My Anglican Diocese is in full communion with all her members Gay or straight. My God would not condemn me nor judge me because I live the word and I breathe it as well. I don’t know if we know the same God.

    God weeps at he who judges another for their sexual orientation. We are all adults here and we can agree to disagree on whether or not gays can be Christian, I contend that they can. And I believe God knows what is in our hearts and you don’t need to call anyone out on what YOU believe they have in their hearts.

    For at the end on that appointed day – It will be God and I at the gate, less all you who judge us. So Be a Good Christian and lead from Love and Do no Harm.

    Christianity is wrought with so much hatred and revulsion, no wonder you could not convert one soul on your quest… Are you convicted yet?

    You must understand yourself and God – and you must understand US as well, maybe then discussion can occur and you can share your message.
    You cannot share your faith with another with the kind of conflict in your heart that you speak of. You must be solid in your God of your understanding, and then you can go out and preach. But preach from a place of Love and Understanding not judgment. If there is too much judgment in your heart, how can you lead anyone to Christ???

    I believe that a Gay person has just as much ability to get into heaven as a judgmental Christian, don’t you agree… Did anyone ask you to convert? Or did you invite yourself into their party?

    What would Jesus Do with that one?

    Finally, Just not lest ye be judged…

    May God Bless you and Keep you

    Jeremy A.
    Religion Scholar B.A.P.M.

  2. skubalon says:

    It sounds like you handled it well. You were able to be bold but keep a balance that did not cause problems.

    I like the Ray Comfort approach to not even talking about their perversion but getting straight on to scripture. They are ready to fight you on the main issue in their life so forget it and hit them with the Law. That would be the only way. In thinking aobut your own situation I think even the ones who claimed to be saved were not if they were living in such open sin so you needed to give them all the Law.

    Sounds like a good day but maybe frustrating and sad.

  3. billphillips says:

    Skubalon,

    Thanks for your encouragement. I certainly used Comfort’s approach, and I agree with it, but I think it may have been appropriate to discuss the issue a couple of times.

    Jeremy,

    Only Christians can go to heaven (John 3:3, 14:6). There is no other name by which men can be saved (Acts 4:12). If you don’t have Jesus you will die in your sins (John 8:24).

    The Bible is clear that homosexuality is a sin (Romans 1:26-27, 1 Corinthians 6:9-10, Galatians 5:19-21). Looking at someone with lust is a sin (Matthew 5:27-28). It’s a sin for me to have sex outside of marriage. It’s a sin for me to look at a woman with lust. It’s a sin for you to do those things, no matter who you’re doing them with.

    Jesus commanded you to repent from your sin, and believe the good news (Mark 1:15). If you’re living a lifestyle of sin, you’re not born again, and you can’t go to heaven (John 3:3, 1 John 3:10).

    Christians are commanded to not even eat with those who claim to be Christians and are living lives of sexual immorality. We are to judge those inside the church and expel them in hopes that they will realize they’re unsaved, and that they’ll get saved and be welcomed back into church someday (1 Corinthians 5:9-13).

    I think it’s clear from your comment that you are not born again, and you don’t even understand the gospel, and I’m deeply concerned for your eternity. As I tell you this I realize it might be offensive, but I’m more concerned for your eternity than for a few minutes of unpleasentness.

    If you repent of your homosexuality, God may never make you like women, but you are commanded to not even look with lust at anyone. If that means God is calling you to a life of celibacy, then the next 50 years of celibacy are worth it to spend eternity in heaven, right?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. smithadam says:

    Wow, good job doing what you did. Some people are so deceived and they don’t even realize it.

    This world will end and people have two choices now. They can either deal with their sin now, or deal with it at the Judgment seat of Christ and in the Judgment it will be too late!

    God’s patience will eventually run out, as I posted in my blog: http://smithadam.wordpress.com/2007/08/20/the-patience-of-god/

    In Christ Alone,
    Adam

  5. billphillips says:

    Jeremy,

    Furthermore, I can’t help but point out your hypocrisy. You said, “Christianity is wrought with so much hatred and revulsion.” Yet you’re quick to point out that Christians shouldn’t judge. What gives? Why are you able to judge someone as being hateful?

    Bill

  6. krislinatin says:

    good post, very interesting. what saddens me is the fact that people really dont know what they believe or know the true gospel.
    i admire you going to the parade and acting out your faith. Peace and Blessings, Kristina

  7. jeremiahandrews says:

    I study Christianity and carry a degree in Religious Studies so I can stand outside and point out the hatred and revulsion of Christianity across the board. Yes I am BORN AGAIN… and I am GAY … So what…

    My God accepts me for who and what I am – that I have sex is not your business. You cannot have the Sacred without the Profane. Come read some of my writings on the Sacred and the Profane and then judge me… I am still alive!! So God must have something yet for me to do for his kingdom, like minister to your blind eyes.

    We shall agree to disagree ….

    Jeremy

  8. jeremiahandrews says:

    In quoting Biblical Scripture to me I counter with this: I have studied Biblical Scripture in Hebrew and in English. If you take a literal approach to the six scripture passages tell me the history of that verse, who wrote it, when it was written and to whom it was written for. And tell me the exact scripture that mentions the word homosexuality? You can leave a comment on my blog on my Salvation from Evangelical post and we can have this discussion so my GAY religious readers can address you as well.

    This is your Christian Challenge – Are you up for it ???

    You will find in University Scripture Study that I know all of your arguments and I have discussed them at great length with a many of you over the years. If you are going to use literal translations and quote scripture you better have a full understanding from a SCHOLARS point of view. I know that information do you?

    Jeremy

  9. robertmarks says:

    Definitely a compelling post, despite my obvious bias as a non-Christian. But why, why would your God or any God (and yes I realize you believe there is no other God but yours) prefer to accept a person like yourself who judges another on their value as a person based simply on which hole they prefer? Wouldn’t some omnipotent and infinitely intelligent being prefer the company of someone who loves and accepts everyone around them, like Jeremy there (for my sake Jeremy I hope you are not a racist gay person or something absurd of the sort). Why does your God’s love have limits? What exactly is he scared of? Is it the whole procreation thing? Or is he just really, really creeped out by the thought of anal sex? Are Jeremy and his husband making your God blush?

    I realize the need of Christianity and other religions and the reason for creating them in the first place to keep people motivated to be “good” while they wait to die and then be rewarded with paradise in an afterlife. Surely without this fear of hell, the human race would not have survived nearly this long. Hopefully it doesn’t come off that I hate religion, because I don’t really…it’s just not for me. As I mentioned a second ago, it’s lucky for me that a huge amount of people are. Sometimes I even wish I could fall towards faith and just float along not caring about anything as long as I made sure not to have sex with men. As happy as it makes me to see someone happy because of faith like Bill…It makes me even happier to see someone happy and fulfilled in life on their own accord, religious or not, who can accept, befriend and, God forbid, have dinner with (literally, according to Bill) anyone, regardless of their beliefs, sexual practices or otherwise.

    Sorry, one more thing…hate to single you out again Bill but when you said, “Yet you’re quick to point out that Christians shouldn’t judge” in your reply to Jeremy, is that insinuating that Christians SHOULD be allowed to judge? I’m sure you didn’t mean that, but it certainly came off that way reading it. I would love to hear you elaborate on that point actually, as I find it’s pretty easy to judge someone who hates or just dislikes versus someone who doesn’t at all.

    Oh crap…I just can’t help but ask “then the next 50 years of celibacy are worth it to spend eternity in heaven, right?” Really Bill? Really? I mean…really? Okay, I can accept that I guess. Heaven must be pretty sweet. Wait…once Jeremy doesn’t get laid for 50 years (start smoking Jeremy, it might speed that 50 up) and gets to heaven…he’ll get to have sex with whoever he wants right?……right? Dear God Jeremy, please say I’m right.

    Sincere good luck to both of you…Jeremy, when you see Bill in heaven…don’t be upset that he doesn’t talk to you right away. Give him time…like eternity or something.

    Rob

  10. hiphopflavor says:

    I’m a Muslim and being gay is a sin in my religion too.

  11. Jay says:

    @ Gay Religious Scholar,

    Wow. I don’t know where to begin, but you are in severe denial my friend and your eyes are blinded from the truth.

    What kind of an argument is it to claim that the English word “homosexual” is not found in the Greek and Hebrew? Really? Gosh. The fact of the matter is that it doesn’t take a scholar to understand the Word of God. It just takes someone who can “connect the dots.”

    The Scriptures such as Lev. 18:22 declare, “Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.” It doesn’t take a scholar to figure out that this theme is carried throughout God’s Word and is detailed in the New Testament and implied in verses that warn against fornication and sexual imorality.

    That we are all sinners is true, but persistence in a lifestyle that God abhors cannot possibly please God. When it comes to ANY sin in our lives, the Bible teaches that we are “more than conquerors through him that loved us.” (Romans 8:37) Just because we currently possess a sinful nature does not mean that we should surrender to it.

    It doesn’t do anyone any good to “love” someone straight to hell. Helping someone find new Life, the Truth, and salvation by grace through faith in Jesus Christ is the greatest love possible. I leave you with this final thought:

    “He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.” (John 14:22)

    Jay

  12. billphillips says:

    Rob,

    Thanks for your comment. I’ll try to make what I’m saying make as much sense as I can. But it boils down to God having a set of laws. Anyone who breaks those laws must be punished.

    God loves people. So, He must hate murder. Humans hate murder, and we’re made in God’s image. We want to see justice be served for the victims by punishing the murderer. God is so holy that He’s not just going to punish murderers; He’s also going to punish liars, thieves, adulterers, blasphemers, etc. (1 Corinthians 6:9,10), because they’ve broken His holy law (the ten commandments). All of us have broken God’s law.

    We all deserve to go to hell, because God is holy, righteous and just. Yet, He is also merciful, so He provided a way for us to go to heaven. Jesus, who is God in the flesh, lived a sinless life. He’s the only person who never deserved to die. It pleased God to punish Jesus for my sins on the cross.

    Justice has been served in my case, and I’m free to go to heaven. That’s a gift that I can’t earn by praying, going to church, or walking little old ladies accross the street. All I can do is accept it by repenting, and putting my faith in Jesus.

    The Bible says we’re a slave to sin, or we’re a slave to Jesus Christ. I have been purchased by Jesus, and I am His slave. We are all called to be celibate until marriage, and not only that, but not even look at a woman with lust. I’ve blown it on that, and other types of sin, but I intend to never lust again.

    There will be no sex in heaven. Jesus said that we won’t be married to each other in heaven. As far as Christians judging, we’re told to judge those inside the church, and leave the judgment of those outside the church up to God (1 Corinthians 5:9-13).

    Thanks,
    Bill

    Hiphopflavor,

    Thank you also for your comment. We probably agree on a lot of things, but I would ask you about Judgment Day. If you’re standing before God as a guilty sinner, having broken His holy law, like the rest of us, why is He going to let you into heaven? Leviticus 17:11 says that blood is required for the forgiveness of sins. I have a blood sacrifice in Jesus, but what about you?

    If Allah just lets you into heaven because he decides to forgive you, that doesn’t seem just. If a judge just forgives a guilty criminal on earth, he’s a wicked judge. You’re trying to bribe the Judge by keeping the five pillars of Islam, but God will not be bribed.

    You’re going to give an account on Judgment Day for every lie you’ve ever told, unless you repent and put your faith in Jesus. Then, Jesus will take your punishment for you. Jesus is the only way to get to heaven. His blood is the only sacrifice that will cover your sins.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  13. maxdaddy says:

    This was a very open and honest post. It takes guts to stand in the storm and boldly proclaim the truth. It also takes guts to admit that sometimes you worry more about man’s reaction at times. I struggle with that, too. Reading the comments is as interesting as reading the post! We Christians have our work laid before us! In the case of homosexuality, as well as with most sin, we really know that it is wrong, and just twist or discredit the Bible in order to quiet our consciences and any dissenters. Keep it up. Maxdaddy.

  14. Rob says:

    Hey Bill, If you’re told to simply let God judge those outside the church…then why do you attempt converting/saving Gay people?

    I don’t know, it just all seems a bit petty to me. I would love to be there the day whoever it was actually wrote the bible. And I suppose it is just a lack of faith that can’t let me believe it was described to the author by God or Jesus or Allah. I just can’t help but have the possibility in the back of my head, that maybe it was just a group of guys huddled around writing this stuff (for the reason I mentioned…keeping civilization sane and stable for eons…a very impressive and distant forsight at the very least) and saying “yeah, geez…Fags sure are gross aren’t they? Hey guys..let’s ban them from our club! whaddya say?”

    God sure seems shallow…and frigid. No sex in heaven? Wow….and the letter begins:

    “Dear Satan, I’m just writing in advance to introduce myself and possibly reserve a room with a view if you’re not already fully booked for the seas…..” and so on. “ps. love what you’ve done with the US government lately.”

    And way to go….you just made hiphopflavour kill himself.

    Keep on bloggin!

    Rob

  15. hiphopflavor says:

    then i assume that you approve of buying forgiveness from the pope???? you are saying that you can sin as much as you want only if you go crying to the pope “i am sorry father, i have sinned. here is my money, now let Jesus forgive me”. and because of that, Jesus will “take the punishment for me”.

    unlike you, i didn’t start preaching about my religion. i only commented that homosexuality is a sin in mine. and if you or anyone else thinks that i hate people who embrace other religions then you are mistaken. i have lots of friends who are Muslims, Christians, Jews, and even “atheists” (i hate that word) or what i call “non-believers”.

    i don’t mind you telling me about your religion and how it works; but i do mind you telling me that mine is “the wrong one” and i am going to be condemned because of that. why can’t you just respect other people’s beliefs? that’s the problem with the world today, everyone is too busy yelling that their religion, belief, way, is better than everyone else’s while people are dying, suffering, and starving.

    thank you everyone
    and if i have offended anyone, my deepest apologies.
    hiphopflavor

  16. billphillips says:

    Hiphopflavor,

    You certainly didn’t offend me, and it wasn’t my intent to offend you. I wish that all religions were correct and we could all go to heaven. However, I think all religions are bogus, including Christianity. Religion is what men do to try to earn favor with God. Whether that’s keeping the five pillars and the ten commandments, getting baptized, praying, meditating, or whatever good/religious deed people think will get them in with God.

    Jesus lived a perfect life. He was tortured on the cross for wicked sinners. He didn’t have to do that. He could have called down an army of angels, but He did it to save people from hell. He’s trying to give you this forgiveness as a gift. You can’t earn it in any way. It’s a very kind offer.

    I’m not Catholic, and the pope has nothing to do with it. I don’t go on sinning, because I realize what Jesus went through on the cross, and I would never want to displease Him by sinning. Christians don’t earn their way into heaven by not sinning; they don’t sin because they are saved and they’re grateful. A Christian might fall into sin, but they no longer dive into sin. So if you know someone who claims to be a Christian, but dives into their sin and doesn’t struggle to stop that sin, you know they’re a hypocrite.

    Jesus has commanded you to repent and put your faith in Him–like you would trust a parachute to save your life when you jump out of a plane–you should trust Jesus to save your life when you die.

    Rob,

    I’m not judging gay people when I witness to them. I’m simply telling them what the Bible says. I don’t just witness to gay people. I’ll witness to anyone who will stand still long enough.

    The Bible was written by God through men. It has supernatural qualities, such as fulfilled prophecies. A couple of posts ago, I wrote about some of those prophecies in “Were the Messianic Prophecies Rigged.” I’m amazed with that information, and I hope you’ll take a look at it. A more general post about the Bible is at https://billphillips.wordpress.com/2007/05/08/is-the-bible-trustworthy/

    I’ve tried to explain to everyone why Jesus is the only way to heaven, but if I stunk at explaining it, you should read the Bible for yourself.

    In John 14:6, Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

    Maxdaddy,
    Thanks for your kind words.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  17. Tom says:

    Hi Bill,

    I just wanted to encourage you. It seems you have several here who are trying to tear you down for holding to the truth of the Gospel message. Don’t waiver because God does not and will not. Jeremy mentioned that the word homosexuality is not found is Scripture – he is correct but that does not mean that the concept is not found there. I would like to suggest that he read Romans 1:18-32 (verse 27 specifically).

    I believe that a homosexual can become a Christian but only after they repent of their lifestyle. True repentance means to turn away from and no longer do those things that you repented of. Therefore, a practicing homosexual cannot, by definition, be a Christian because he never repented of his sin.

    I also want to point out that it is not judging someone to point out to them that they are in sin. True, it should be done in love and if it is not done in love then it will be of no benefit to the one in sin. Pointing out sin or telling someone how that they need salvation is the most incredible thing we can do for others. If our heart is right then it is an awesome act of love.

    Keep up the good work Bill.

  18. […] by Tom on August 24th, 2007 I found this (Gay Christians? « Fisher of Men) post over at Fisher of Men.  This brother participated in witnessing at a gay pride parade in […]

  19. billphillips says:

    Tom,

    Thanks for checking out my blog, and thanks for the encouragement.

    Bill

  20. birdchirp says:

    Excellent post and my prayers are with your ministry. I also pray that Jeremy will realize that when Jesus forgave someone during His earthly ministry He always said, “Go and sin no more.”

  21. Nigel Bruce says:

    Why do fundamentalist Christians always chose to ignore the fact that as well as calling homosexuality a sin the Bible also prescribes the death penalty. Fortunately very few fundamentalists go this far but it does demonstrate how they selectively chose those lines from the Bible that justify their bigotry and prejudices and how they are quite happy to ignore views they know would be unacceptable to any right-minded person.

  22. billphillips says:

    Nigel,

    Thanks for your comment. During the Old Testament, people were under that covenant, and homosexuals probably did receive the death penalty at the time. Now, we’re under a new covenant, and we are no longer commanded to stone people. Judgment is left up to God, but He’s made it clear that homosexuals aren’t going to heaven (1 Corinthians 6:9-10).

    I understand that it can be confusing to tell what’s going on between the Old and New Testament, but take a look at 1 Corinthians 6:9-10, and Romans 1:26-27. You could also read my most recent post.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  23. Nigel Bruce says:

    Bill,

    I’m sorry but your response is a cop-out, disingenous and merely proves my point. When its suits you, you are willing to see the Bible as an historical document subject to intepretation. Where does it say in the Bible that we are not bound by the laws of the Old Testament? Please quote chapter and verse. If it’s clear that we are no longer obliged to enact the punishments prescribed in the OT then what justification do Christians have for quoting the behavioral rules and ignoring the associated punishments. Most Christians in discussing homosexuality do frequently quote Leviticus and they certainly don’t act as if this is some sort of agreement that is no longer valid. The fact that homosexulaity carried the death penalty in many Christian countries until comparatively recently demonstrates clearly that Christianity doesn’t see the laws of the OT as not binding on them. Are the Ten Commandments part of an old covenent that we can now ignore? You quote passages from the NT but this exemplifies my point that like most Christians you pick and chose those elements from the Bible that suit you and ignore what doesn’t.

    Why did Jesus have nothing to say about homosexuality if its so bad? Why do Christians have nothing to say about money-lending which Jesus was clearly against?

    Nigel

  24. Nigel Bruce says:

    “The Bible says, “Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God” (1 Corinthians 6:9–10). That passage includes a long list of sinners, and I’m on it, and so is everyone else.”

    Bill

    why are you and other Christians so obsessed with homosexuality given that its just one of many forms of human behaviour and activities that will exclude someone from heaven. Why did you chose to go to a Gay Pride march to spread your message. According to your view of the world there is hardly anyone who isn’t sinning. I can’t help wondering if its not your personal hangups about sex that lead you to elevate homosexuality to be the worst of these. Or is it perhaps because you know that gay men are unlikely to physically attack you at a Gay Pride festival whereas most straight men would give you a smack in the mouth if you stood outside a bar attacking their drunken behaviour. Aren’t gay men and lesbians just an easy target for because they’re already a vilified minority – which you just help to vilify more. Whether it’s your intention or not atttitudes such as yours perpetuate violence against gay people. I suspect that your quite well meaning and would reject any violence but I would ask you to follow the example of the life of Christ and examine your heart. Think about what you are doing. You are causing harm. Not doing Good.

  25. billphillips says:

    Nigel,

    You should read not only the posts surrounding this post, but even the comments on this post. I tried to communicate with a Muslim (hiphopflavor), and two guys named Rob that I have no idea what they call themselves. The post following this one talks about going down to the bars to talk to people. Last night I went to the Colorado State Fair, and I’m going back tomorrow. I will talk to anyone who will stand still long enough to hear me out.

    Concerning the Old and New Testament, I’ll give you a quick passage to back up what I said. Galatians 3:23-25 says, “Before this faith came, we were held prisoners by the law, locked up until faith should be revealed. 24So the law was put in charge to lead us to Christ that we might be justified by faith. 25Now that faith has come, we are no longer under the supervision of the law.” The law is referring to the Old Testament rules, and faith refers to the covenant we’re under through Christ. I’ll try to help you understand as best I can, but you should read the Bible for yourself.

    If you weren’t so cynical, you would see it from my side. You would see that I’m inviting people to join my club. I’m asking them to join me in heaven for eternity, because I care about them. Does it make sense that if I’m biased against someone to invite them to spend eternity with me?

    If you’re honest with yourself, you’ve done something on that list in 1 Corinthians, too. This is your wake up call. Maybe God brought you here to read that verse. Don’t you care at all about your eternity? Please think about it. You have God’s Word that you’re going to hell. Put aside your thoughts about me and get this figured out. Think about it in spite of me. Hell is a place of eternal torture.

    Go to http://www.tenthousanddollaroffer.com. It doesn’t even say anything about homosexuality. It’s just a quiz, and it explains what you need to know.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  26. Kyle Roy says:

    This is an interesting article. I appreciate especially that you actually reach out to the community. God bless you! If you get a chance, can you check out the article listed as my website above. I think you would give good feedback.

    Anyway, God bless, and yes – I am born again (and straight and celibate).

    Kyle Roy

  27. I think “Christian” homosexuals are committing the logical fallacy of begging the question. They don’t believe the Bible condemns homosexuality, so they set out to prove the Bible doesn’t condemn homosexuality.

Leave a Reply

