In Defense of the Trinity

The trinity is a concept that a lot of Christians just believe, but never really take the time to understand. No one can defend something they don’t understand. Even though, the word “trinity” isn’t used in the Bible, the Bible doesn’t forbid the use of extrabiblical language to describe its doctrines.

There are three basic principles that can help people understand the trinity.

Principle 1–There is only one God.

This one seems obvious, but Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses are already disqualified. Christianity, Judaism and Islam are the only major religions that are monotheistic. There are many, many verses that say there is only one God, but a few are Deuteronomy 6:4, Isaiah 43:10, John 5:44, and 1 Corinthians 8:4.

Principle 2–There Are Three Divine Persons.

The Father, Yahweh, is God–Deuteronomy 4:35, Isaiah 44:6, etc.

Jesus is God–John 1:1, Isaiah 9:6, Acts 20:28, etc.

The Holy Spirit is God–Acts 5:3-4, 2Corinthians 3:17, etc.

Principle 3–The Three Persons Are Co-Eternal. Each of the three persons has no beginning and no end.

The Father is eternal–Psalm 90:2, 102:26-27, Malachi 3:6.

Jesus is eternal–John 8:58, Colossians 1:17, Hebrews 1:11-12, 13:8.

The Holy Spirit is eternal–Hebrews 9:14.

If those three principles are true, the only logical possibility is the trinity.

Jesus said, “I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am the one I claim to be, you will indeed die in your sins” (John 8:24). How far off can we be in our understanding of who Jesus is, and still not die in our sins? I’d like to hear anyone’s thoughts.

5 Responses to In Defense of the Trinity

  1. TroyG says:

    Hi, neat article.

    I think that whatever we know, if we deliberately reject what God says, that’s the problem; whether it’s a ‘small’ issue or a ‘big’ one.

    fyi, as I spent a lot of time researching the Watchtower Society and the LDS church – I wanted to be sure that what I believed was correct – and as a result, I’ve posted an article on the Trinity.
    http://troygrisgonelle.wordpress.com/?s=trinity

    I’d be interested to know what you think.

    TG.

  2. Kullervo says:

    Isn’t the Trinity supposed to be a fundamental mystery, not capable of being fully understood? I’m not arguing with you or anything; I actually don’t know.

  3. Bill says:

    Kullervo,

    Yes, I think a lot of God’s qualities are beyond human comprehension. But, we can understand the parts that He has revealed and explained in the Bible. I think I understand each of the above principles, but I certainly don’t understand all of the implications, or how it really works.

    Bill

  4. TroyG says:

    Hi Kullervo,

    The only God worthy of worship would be beyond human comprehension. If we could fully understand (comprehend) God, we would be ‘bigger’ than He is; more knowing at least. With God in a box, who would worship Him?

    Though something may be beyond our ability to reason, it doesn’t mean it’s contradictory to reason.

    I don’t know if you’ve seen my article on the Trinity, but there are a couple of examples that might help you to grasp how God is Trinity (the technical term is coinherence or perichoresis).

    TroyG.

  5. Bill, thanks for the comment. Great response to my point.

    I was merely reacting to several situations in my ministry where people would have much rather have me stand up front and lead a lesson instead of spending quality time with individuals.

    But your point is very valid. It is important that, in the midst of relationships, I am very intentional about explaining (as well as demonstrating) Christ’s love.

    Thanks and God Bless
    Adam

Leave a Reply

