God Believes in Science

Many atheists love science. I would go so far as to say that in some cases, science is their god. It’s the god that says they’ll never be accountable to the Creator on Judgment Day.

Perhaps because of this, some people would say that Christianity and science are incompatible. I’m not among them—I think science is great. God has blessed us with numerous wonderful things through science.

It’s interesting to note who some of the scientists were that made discoveries that are woven tightly into the fabric of our lives today.

Sir Francis Bacon was a devout Christian, and even though he was more of a philosopher than a scientist, he invented the scientific method. He believed that God revealed Himself to us in two books—Scripture and creation.

Probably the greatest scientist of all time, Sir Isaac Newton founded calculus and dynamics. He described science as “thinking God’s thoughts after him,” and he studied the Bible daily.

Dozens of other branches of science were founded by Christians, including:

  • Antiseptic surgery: Joseph Lister
  • Bacteriology: Louis Pasteur
  • Celestial mechanics: Johannes Kepler
  • Chemistry and gas dynamics: Robert Boyle
  • Computer science: Charles Babbage
  • Electrodynamics: John Clark Maxwell
  • Energetics: Lord Kelvin
  • Field theory: Michael Faraday
  • Hydrostatics: Blaise Pascal
  • Oceanography: Matthew Maury

The faith of the Bible is based on facts and reason.  It’s only because of the Bible and a Christian world view that we have science at all.

25 Responses to God Believes in Science

  1. Joe says:

    Science is not my god. I am an atheist; I have no god. I do have a lot of respect for science as the best method we have to discerning the truth.

    Science owes nothing to Christianity. We would certainly have science without it.

    It does of course owe a lot to some particular Christians (and people from many other religions and cultures) that contributed their great ideas and hard work to its advancement. many of them (including some you mention) would probably not be happy the way that some Christians have organized themselves in opposition to the advancement of science.

    God and science are not mutually exclusive, but strict adherence to a literal interpretation of holy texts and science are not compatible.

  2. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    I think we do certainly owe the existence of science to Christianity. The idea that God is revealed to us in two books–the Bible and creation–was insturmental to spurring on the study of both.

    So, if you’re an atheist, you look at the amazing complexity of something like a living cell, and just write that off as chance. I have to admit that I don’t understand that. If you look at a car engine, you know that it didn’t come about by chance, but the cell is many times more complex.

    Do you have a Christian background?

    Thanks for your comment.

    Bill

  3. Joe says:

    Well we can agree to disagree on the first point. I would point to all the science that was done before that Christian doctrine was espoused as evidence in my favor.

    I look at the evidence and the evidence shows a continuous trend of increasing complexity in fossils. Evolution is a scientific theory that is supported by evidence and adequately explains the diversity of life on earth. Chance is not the important mechanism, natural selection is.

    Atheism is an issue other than evolution. My atheism is based on the lack of evidence for any god. I have no reason to believe an extraordinary claim for the existence of something that breaks established and well supported physical laws without compelling evidence. There is no evidence that there is a god.

    I was raised a Christian and most of my family are Christians of various levels of commitment. I became an atheist at a very young age though, so I don’t have tremendous religious baggage and I was never a Christian as an adult.

  4. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    Even if you believe in evolution, you still have to account for the beginning of life and matter. Where did all of the matter come from? Scientists believe that the universe is going to keep expanding, and it’s all just going to burn out. It’s not going to collapse back on itself to explode again, so there has to be a beginning.

    I understand evolution doesn’t attempt to explain how the first living things came about, only how those basic things became everything. Even the amino acids and simple cells are amazingly complex, and couldn’t have come about by chance. There had to be a designer. Life doesn’t just pop into existence.

    The Bible says that people will deny the obvious evidence for creation and for God, because they love their sin. The Bible is clear that we’re all going to stand before God on Judgment Day, and give an account for every thought word and deed. God’s standard is perfection, and He’ll judge us based on His law–the Ten Commandments. You can test yourself by asking if you’ve kept each one of them. If you’ve ever even told a lie, you’ve broken the ninth commandment, and you’re a liar. The Bible is clear that all liars deserve to be punished in hell.

    If He gives you justice, you’ll spend eternity in hell, (and I should be right there next to you). Does it concern you that if you died today, you have God’s promise that you’ll go to hell?

    When you were a kid did you ever ask Jesus into your heart or pray a sinner’s prayer? The reason I ask is because it seems like some atheists are really ticked off, and you seem like you’re not. It’s my theory that a lot of the ticked off atheists were told that Jesus will make them happy (which is not in the Bible), and they accept Jesus. But then when something bad happens, they find out that what they were told about Jesus isn’t true. That really makes them mad, and I can sympathize, because they were tricked into making a decision.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  5. Joe says:

    Yes, life and matter had to have a beginning. Currently we do not know the details. It may be that we never know the details of the beginning of the Universe. The big bang may be a point that we can never “look” beyond no matter how sensitive our instruments become. Human knowledge has limits, that fact does not support the existence of god.

    Life did not just pop into existence, and the primary factors in its origin was certainly not chance or randomness, but a complicated chemical process. There is much interesting work on this cutting edge of biology. I suggest looking for the June issue of Scientific American which has a great article about where we are in answering these fascinating questions. Our incompleteness of knowledge is not evidence for any god.

    I don’t really care what the bible says. There is no evidence that it is any more than the stories of man. There is no obvious evidence that god created anything.

    Threats of torture from imaginary beings are not very compelling, one would have to believe in the being in order to feel compelled to obey. I have no anger in regards to religion and I know many atheists who don’t either. I am concerned with the sudden hyper-religious reflex that I see in this country, which is supposed uphold the ideals of religious freedom. I am a strong believer in religious freedom.

    Again, I became an atheist at a young age, 14. I never was very seriously religious since I was a very young child. I was baptized at a very young age, just following the pack of my peers essentially. I have no particular emotional investment in such a ritual though. It means little to me, so I have nothing to be angry about.

  6. billphillips says:

    You’re betting your eternity on a Scientific American article, and the hope that maybe someday humans will be able to look beyond the big bang. You have way more faith than I do.

    You may remember when the Jews were trying to leave Egypt, Moses would go to the pharoh, and command him to let the Jews leave, or threaten a plague of some sort. Several times, pharoh initially agreed, and then it says that God would harden pharoh’s heart, and pharoh would change his mind. The plague would take place. This happened several times. For whatever reason God decided that He would get more glory from hardening pharoh’s heart.

    Maybe God has hardened your heart so that you’re able to deny the obvious evidence for His existence. Romans 1:21 says, “For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened.” Maybe God has given you over to your depravity. Either way, your knee will someday bow and you will declare that Jesus Christ is Lord. For your sake I hope it’s before you die.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  7. Micky says:

    WHERE IS GOD?
    THIS IS A TRUE STORY:
    There was this King who ruled his kingdom for many years. His every desire was satisfied, but still he felt there must be more to life than just satisfying ones instincts. He wanted to experience God – know who he was.
    He asked his courtiers to find God for him, but none of them could help him. He had heard about a shepherd boy named David who seemed content with his lot. He called him to his palace and asked him, “Where is God, I want to experience, God”. David took him out to the fields and asked the King could he see God. The king said, “No, where is God”?
    David said that he is up in the air, all around him. But still the King could not understand or experience, God. David took him to a well and said that God was in the well. The King looked at David and said, “In the well, God is in the well!!” David asked the King to look in the well and the King obliged. He then said, “All I can see is water and my image”! David said to the King, “You have found God”! You and I are the image of God.
    Can you see God when you look in a mirror? The kingdom of God is within you!!
    Neither shall they say, Lo here! Or, lo there! For, behold, the kingdom of God is within you [Luke 17: 21].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  8. Joe says:

    Billphillips: I’ll repeat that threats against my eternal soul are useless unless you have demonstrated its existence. Claims to know the word of god are useless without some demonstration that god exists. Your words may move some, they ring like hollow rhetoric in my ears.

    If god has “hardened my heart” I guess he really just want to torture me forever. Do you really believe that?

    The reality is there is no reason to believe in any god. But feel free to continue to try and scare me into it.

  9. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    I can’t convince you of anything. We can throw the most clever arguments at each other, and it wouldn’t do any good. God has to convince you of His existence. The Bible says He created men, and planted knowledge of Himself in all of them. It also says He’s given you creation as evidence of His existence, and your conscience.

    God doesn’t want to torture you forever, but He gives you a free choice. If you live your entire life and choose not to acknowledge all that He’s done for you, it will please Him to demonstrate His infinite justice on you. I see two possibilities for you. Either God will eventually convince you and you’ll become born again, or He has given you over to your rebellion.

    Either way, the Bible says the amazing intricacies of creation is enough evidence that you will be without excuse on Judgment Day. I’m terrified for you; I truly wish there was something I could say.

    Bill

  10. Joe says:

    Actually you could convince of things, but you are right that argument will not do it. I require evidence. Well I can assuredly assert that there is no knowledge of gods existence planted in me. So a god that would do that certainly doesn’t exist.

    Although that idea certainly contradicts your previous thought that god may have hardened my heart. I guess you need to make up your mind whether god wants me to believe in him or not. But I can see the rhetorical flexibility in being able to have it both ways.

    I wish we could discuss ideas without the threats. :-)

    But honestly I fear your future eternity when Allah sends you to the Muslim hell. I hear it feels something like an eternity of breaking bones without relief. Honestly under that threat you might want to convert on the spot. But I am guessing you will find that particular threat as unconvincing as I do.

  11. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    Thank you for bringing up Allah rather than the flying spaghetti monster. I have to admit I’m a little bit tired of that one, and appreciate a little variety.

    I really don’t know what else to say, unless you want to discuss how evolution is impossible, or how your conscience should scream at you whenever you break God’s law.

    A mouse trap is simple, but it couldn’t have come about through evolution (a limitless number of slight modifications), because even with all of the parts but one, it would be useless.

    If there’s one biological system that would be analogous to a mouse trap, evolution would be impossible, right? Off the top of my head I can think of a few. The human eye relies on the brain, an optical nerve, and the eye with all of it’s optics. It also relies on light-sensitive cells. The bombardier beetle mixes two types of chemicals that it stores inside it’s body that mix to create a burning chemical. If the chemicals aren’t kept separate until it decides to combine them, the beetle would burn up from the inside out. The blood clotting process is very complex calling on a whole chain reaction of proteins. There are serious issues with evolution concerning the DNA and RNA processes. There are no valid explanations for these issues provided by evolution. Most of these are fairly rudimentary systems, and the theory should have been scrapped long ago.

    We could discuss all of that for a very long time, and we would probably both be in way over our heads, but I think Sir Julian Huxley hit the nail on the head. He was asked why so many scientists leapt at the theory of evolution. He responded that, “probably the reason that we all jumped at the Origin was because the idea of God interfered with their sexual mores.” He didn’t want to be accountable to God. He wanted to live his life the way he wanted. Maybe sexual sin isn’t your problem, but I have a suspicion that if you were to admit there is a God, you know you would have to stop doing something you like.

    What do you think?

  12. Joe says:

    Well I think it is a boring discussion if I am the only one that responds to anything. Your tactic seems to be to through whatever tired argument you can find at me and if none of them stick just reach down for another handful. (I have heard all these arguments countless times before, quite like the old FSM. If you want an atheists response you could just Google a lot of them, rather than making me regurgitate them here.) With the result of this conversation getting so far afield I can’t seem to remember where it began.

    I’m wondering why you do not respond to the Allah reference. Why should your threats of damnation be any more convincing than theirs? And really even if your arguments against evolution could convince me there must have been a creator, what should make me decide it must be your god?

    I am glad to see you dropped the threats though, and instead turned to besmirching my character. I will not stoop to that level and return the favor. Suffice it to say that sexual mores have nothing to do with my atheism. Whether it delights you to believe otherwise or not.

  13. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    We know there is a Creator, because of the creation. So we have to figure out if any of the current religions are correct. I’m not worried about Allah, because there is zero evidence that the Quran is true. There is zero evidence for the Book of Mormon or Hinduism. The Bible claims to be a supernatural book along with the others, but there is a ton of evidence that the Bible is trustworthy. Entire books have been written about the topic, but real quickly, here is some evidence.

    I put together a post about it, which you can look at.
    https://billphillips.wordpress.com/2007/05/08/is-the-bible-trustworthy/

    A method for organizing evidence for the reliability of the Bible is provided by the MAPS acronym (manuscript, archaeology, prophetic, statistical).

    The manuscript evidence just shows that the Bible we have today is the same as what was written down originally–not necessarily evidence of its supernatural origin. As compared with other ancient documents, the Bible has amazing manuscript support.

    Archaeologically, the Bible is perfect. There have been many times when archaeologists have doubted some fact cited in the Bible, but a few months or years or decades later, archaeologists find the evidence that supports the Bible. This has happened over and over again.

    There are a ton of prophecies in the Bible. Every one of them has either come true, or will come true. There are at least 100 prophecies about the life of Jesus in the Old Testament. For instance the book of Isaiah was written 700 years before Jesus, but it is sometimes referred to as the 5th gospel. Take a look at Isaiah 53. If after reading it you think it’s been somehow rigged, look up the Dead Sea Scrolls.

    The statistical evidence refers to what the odds are of all of the prophecies about Jesus coming true by chance. Let’s just say the odds are zero. There are a lot of prophecies that have come true, not just the ones about Jesus. For instance, Jesus said that the Jewish temple would be destroyed such that not one stone would be left on top of another (Matthew 24:1-2). When the Romans destroyed the temple in 70 A.D. they completely tore it down, because they thought there was gold hidden in the walls.

    Let me know what you think. I’m sorry you don’t care for my style of discussion. I’m terribly worried about what will happen if you die without Jesus. I’m trying desperately to say something that will shake you awake, but I realize that only God can convince you of the truth.

    Bill

  14. Joe says:

    So you refuse to discuss anything at all with me? You will never convert anyone if your style is to ignore 99% of what they say and just throwing more crap at them. I think you need to do a bit more research about the supposed fulfilled prophesies and a little more research in those other religions you dismiss out of hand. Don’t you think it odd with all the religions in the world the one you were raised with just happened to be the undeniably correct one? Isn’t it odd the most people who become religious choose the one that they are surrounded by in their family or culture?

    Anyway, I wish to end this discussion because you refuse to discuss. I will advise anyone reading this not to take your claims at face value. But I suppose if they are already a believer they will and if they are not they won’t, such is the way of the world.

  15. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    You’re right. I dismissed Islam out of hand. I’m more than happy to go into why Islam is bogus, and really the reason why every religion is bogus except one.

    You’re a liar, a thief, a blasphemer, an adulterer, and a murderer-at-heart, etc. So am I. So the question becomes does God care when someone is murdered? If God loves people, he hates murder, and wants justice to be served just like humans do. So does He stop at punishing murderers, and just let everything else slide? The Bible says He will also punish liars and thieves and will account for every sin ever committed.

    Islam says that Allah will just forgive good people. A good judge in a court room won’t let lawbreakers go free, but Allah is so corrupt that he can be bribed with a muslim’s good works. Buddhism, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Mormons, Catholics, Hindus all pretty much say that by doing certain good works or religious works, you can bribe God into doing something good for you. If a guy is going to make up a religion, he’s going to say that good deeds will be rewarded, and bad deeds will be punished, and that’s what every religion says, except one.

    Christianity is completely different, and the only one that says that you’re incapable of anything good. You are wicked. You will be punished for every evil thought and action, and you can’t bribe the Judge. Justice must be served. I’m going to stand before God as a guilty man, and I will deserve hell. But God provided a way for justice to be served, and let me into heaven.

    God created the universe to demonstrate His qualities to us. He is infinitely holy, just, and merciful. He provided a way for us to get to heaven, and it’s the only way. He wants the credit for saving us, and He’s not interested in sharing the credit.

  16. Joe says:

    So you will abandon the threat of hell as an argument tactic in the future?

    So your choice of Christianity over Islam is personal preference? You prefer the whole “gods sacrifice = forgiveness of sins” story to whatever stories those other religions tell?

    You don’t concern yourself with whether or not those religious “theories” reflect reality, you just choose the one that contains this one particular feature which you have decided is the most important?

    Anyway, the only reason I referred to Islam was to do away with the threat of hell argument. If it is not sufficient to convert you to Islam, than it should not be sufficient to convert anyone to Christianity.

    To an atheist, arguing over different religions would be like arguing over what Santa Clause likes to eat for breakfast.

  17. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    There is ample evidence that the Bible is supernatural, and it says certain things about God. It confirms what creation would lead us to believe, and it’s the only one that makes sense.

    I have to preach the gospel, and I try to do it as biblically as possible. Jesus never hesitated to mention hell, and I won’t either. If you’re not convinced, that’s your choice. If the possibilty of hell doesn’t bother you, why do you care whether I talk about it? We can discuss the possibility of my eternity in Muslim hell all day long, and I might get bored, but it wouldn’t bother me.

    I want to tell you what you could do to wipe Christianity off the map, and make it all just a vague memory. I’m surprised more atheists haven’t caught onto this. I guess they just don’t read the Bible.

    1 Corinthians 15:13-19 says, “And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is useless and so is your faith. More than that, we are then found to be false witnesses about God, for we have testified about God that he raised Christ from the dead. But he did not raise him if in fact the dead are not raised. For if the dead are not raised, then Christ has not been raised either. And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ are lost. If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are to be pitied more than all men.”

    So all you have to do is show that the resurrection of Christ is a joke, and all of Chrstianity will fall like a house of cards, and you will make me a man to be pitied more than all men.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  18. Joe says:

    You mean all I have to do is demonstrate that something didn’t happen 2,000 years ago? Why didn’t you say so? How easy is that?

    In reality I need prove nothing. Without any evidence to support the contention that there is a god, I’m not impressed by your hollow claims.

    Enjoy your preaching.

  19. Hi Joe

    Bill is a friend of mine and I often read his blog. I have just finished reading your lengthy conversation and it looks like you might be giving up.

    I just want to encourage you to re-read what Bill has said during this discourse. There is evidence for the existence of God! You’re standing on it (if you do happen to be standing). Yes the very thing that you think has evolved is actually evidence for a creator. It’s what you have been looking for. Faith is not about some crazy wish for something to be true. Its simply responding to truth.

    Joe. I also care about you. Bill has shared with you the truth that God has allowed us to know about through the bible. God did not create himself – he always was and always will be. In him is no darkness and he does not change. God calls you to turn from your sins and to trust in Christ Jesus alone for the forgiveness of your sins. All sin is against God. This is a wonderful message that we want to share with you Joe. Bill has worked hard to show you this. Please reanalyse what has been said in this discussion.

    Daniel.

  20. Joe says:

    I have nothing to say when my comments are being ignored and I am being preached at. I did not post here with any intent to change Bill’s world view, just to change his mind about atheists.

    I am not really interested in explaining to you why “what I am standing on” is not evidence for any of Bill’s claims. I think what I have already said should be sufficient.

  21. I actually think that Bill has listened to your comments/statements/theories/questions and really tried to address them in each reply but perhaps it is difficult to hear. Yes, you will be preached at here; that is what evangelists do. We also want to listen and understand – but not to the point of wasting heaps of time.

    In summary what key points would you like Bill and I (and anyone with the patience to read this discussion) to know about Atheists?

  22. Joe says:

    What I said in my first comment:

    “Science is not my god. I am an atheist; I have no god. I do have a lot of respect for science as the best method we have to discerning the truth.

    Science owes nothing to Christianity. We would certainly have science without it.”

  23. billphillips says:

    Joe,

    I’ll take your word that science isn’t your god. I think it is Sir Julian Huxley’s god, as evidenced by the quote I’ve already given, “Probably the reason that we all jumped at the Origin was because the idea of God interfered with their sexual mores.” He didn’t want to be accountable to God. He wanted to live his life the way he wanted, and science was the religion that allowed him to live how he wanted.

    I talk to people on the street, and I ask them if they’ve ever lied. If they’ve ever stolen or taken God’s name in vain, or looked at a woman with lust. Many times when I tell them that Jesus said that if you’ve looked at a woman with lust, you’ve committed adultery with her already in your heart, they’ll say something very similar to, “My god doesn’t mind if I look with lust.” Even though they claim to believe the Bible, they’ve taken the God of the Bible, and changed Him around a little bit so that they can look at women, and not feel bad. They carved a little idol in their mind.

    It’s the same thing with many atheists. They just scrap all gods, and say my god doesn’t mind if I look at women, because he doesn’t exist. The average atheist has really never studied evolution or the big bang, and just buys all of that, so that he will never be accountable. That’s what I meant by the first paragraph of the post.

    You can claim that science would have existed without Christianity, but we’ll never know. Sir Francis Bacon formulated the scientific method. And many more than just the fields I listed were founded by Christians.

    Johannes Kepler said, “The chief aim of all investigation of the external world should be to discover the rational order and harmony which has been imposed on it by God.”

    He also said, “I had the intention of becoming a theologian…but now I see how God is, by my endeavors, also glorified in astronomy, for ‘the heavens declare the glory of God.'”

    Thanks,
    Bill

  24. Joe says:

    I have never met Julian Huxley. Can’t defend him or his bizarre words. I’ve never met an atheist that said they were so because of the sex. I suppose it could be possible, but religion doesn’t seem to stop a lot of people from exhibiting behavior that your god might call immoral.

    I do know that science is not Mr. Huxley’s religion, because it isn’t a religion. It is simply a method of learning about the world. Certainly most scientists believed in one god or another, simply because most people do. The opinions of people won’t change my mind though, or I would never have become an atheist in the first place.

    The stories about what your god thinks is right or wrong mean very little to me.

  25. […] by healtheland on August 3rd, 2007 Post God Believes in Science from […]

Leave a Reply

