What I Should Have Done Yesterday

Most of the following comes from Chapter 8 of Have You Witnessed to a Mormon Lately?  I tried to make the point with Matthew (the Mormon elder of the previous post) that Jesus is one with the God of the Old Testament. I had a misunderstanding of their beliefs, and a friend told me that they believe that Jesus is the God of the Old Testament, except where the Old Testament refers to Elohim. Elohim is God the Father. So the verses I used didn’t necessarily apply.

Mormons are polytheistic. They believe that there is an unlimited number of gods ruling their own planets, and good Mormons go on to become gods and run their own planets (populate their planet with people by having sex with their wives, like Elohim does with earth). In Journal of Discourses, Vol. 6, p. 4, Joseph Smith is quoted as saying, “You have got to learn how to be Gods yourselves… the same as all Gods have done before you…”

There is a three step process in showing that the God of the Bible isn’t anything similar to Mormon beliefs. First, you need to commit them to the fact of their polytheism. Second, you need to demonstrate the philosophical basis for monotheism. That is, to walk them through to the logical conclusion that God cannot have been created. Third, then you can show them that the Bible is clearly and absolutely monotheistic.

Step 1: They may resist calling themselves polytheist, but there’s no denying it. Many people aren’t familiar with the term polytheism, but a more familiar term may be “plurality of gods.”

Step 2: Mormons believe that every god was once a man. There has to be a Creator of the first man, and all the matter in the universe. You can’t go back an infinite number of gods. There has to be a first Creator. If God’s creator was Tom and Tom’s creator was Larry, then Roger then…there has to be a beginning. You can’t go on forever.

Step 3. The Bible is crystal clear; quote the following verses. There are several to go over, so it may be helpful to highlight them in your Bible.

“You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord, “and my servant whom I have chosen, so that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed, nor will there be one after me. I, even I, am the Lord, and apart from me there is no savior” (Isaiah 43:10–11).

This is what the Lord says – Israel’s King and Redeemer, the Lord Almighty: I am the first and I am the last; apart from me there is no God. Who then is like me? Let him proclaim it” (Isaiah 44:6–7).

At this point, you can ask, “If He is the first and the last, how many gods are there?”

“You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one” (Isaiah 44:8).

“I am the Lord, and there is no other, apart from me there is no God… so that from the rising of the sun to the place of its setting men may know there in none besides me. I am the Lord, and there is no other” (Isaiah 45:5–6).

About this time they may object by saying that these verses are talking about Elohim, the god of this world.

Isaiah 45:12 should be helpful in this regard: “It is I who made the earth and created mankind upon it. My own hand stretched out the heavens; I marshaled their starry hosts.”

This verse shows that there is a Creator of the universe.

Job 38:31–33 talks about God controlling the constellations, and bringing them about in season.  Isaiah 40:22 explains that God stretches out the heavens like a canopy. “Through him all things were made” (John 1:3). The Bible is consistent in claiming that God created the universe.

For this is what the Lord says – he who created the heavens, he is God…. He says: “I am the Lord, and there is no other…. There is no God apart from me…. There is none but me…. I am God, and there is no other” (Isaiah 45:18-22).

Isaiah 46:8–9 is a powerful passage. How would you like to stand before God on Judgment Day as a Mormon and have Him tell you, “Remember this, fix it in mind, take it to heart, you rebels. Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.”

Leave a Reply

