Critical Repentance

Is repentance really necessary for salvation, along with faith in Jesus Christ? Jesus said,
“…unless you repent you will all likewise perish” (Luke 13:5) and “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel” (Mark 1:15).

Repentance means that we:
1. Recognize that we have sinned against God.
2. Are sorry for our sins.
3. Turn from sin with God’s help.
4. Start being obedient to God’s commands.

1. Recognition of sin against God
We have all sinned (Romans 3:23). To get a little better understanding of how sinful we are, we can look at some other Bible verses.
“Then the LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually” (Genesis 6:5).
“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked…” (Jeremiah 17:9).
“No one is good but One, that is, God” (Luke 18:19).
“There is none righteous, no, not one; there is none who understands; there is none who seeks after God. They have all turned aside; they have together become unprofitable; there is none who does good, no, not one” (Romans 3:10-12).

2. Sorrow for sin
“Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death” (2 Corinthians 7:10). In other words, we have to be sorry for our sins, not because we’ve been caught, or because it might cost us something, but because we’ve offended God.

3. Turning from sin with God’s help
The Apostle Paul said, “I preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds” (Acts 26:20). “He who does what is sinful is of the devil, because the devil has been sinning from the beginning” (1 John 3:8).

4. Obedience to God’s commands
Jesus said, “If you love me, you will obey what I command” (John 14:15) and “Produce fruit in keeping with repentance” (Matthew 3:8).

One Response to Critical Repentance

  1. Micky says:

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

Leave a Reply

