Heart of Stone

If there was a kid drowning in a swimming pool, and someone was sitting by the pool reading a book, and just let the kid drown, they’d be callous jerks.  It would be that person’s moral and legal duty to get up and try to save the kid.  

The thing is, I know Christians who sit around reading the Bible or praying or watching TV while people are dying and going to hell.  They have a heart of stone.  Christians are supposed to have been given a heart of flesh.  If you’re hoarding the cure for eternal death, while people around you are dying, you should question whether you’ve actually ever received that heart of flesh. 

9 Responses to Heart of Stone

  1. rjperalta says:

    I say Amen!

    This is a simple example, but true.

    Other Christians praying is a good thing. But what about after that?

    I think of all the time that is wasted watching TV. We are going to have to give an account of that time someday.

    And good books are OK. But like everything, else it must be balanced.

    Oh may compassion rise up for the lost!

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  2. Hi Bill. Nice to find another like-minded Christian site to visit and learn from. And absolutely, I do feel like I need to share the good news with others around me in this little corner of the world God put me in. They’re all dying of thirst, (and I remember what that feels like because it wasn’t that long ago for me), and I’m trying to say, “here, I can show you where it is, the water of life is Christ, this is all you have to do, accept the gift.” It’s our duty and responsibility, and we need to do more than just mention them in our prayers. I have a hard time praying “Thy kingdom come” when so many of my friends and acquaintances are still not saved.
    Catherine

  3. billphillips says:

    Thank you for your comments.

    I thank God for those who are willing to take a little risk and share the gospel.

    Catherine, I’m impressed with your love for the lost, even though you haven’t been a Christian so long. I think that’s biblical, and how we should all be. Make sure to study to show yourself approved, then overcome your fears and get out there, before a more mature Christian discourages you from doing this. Rest assured that some will. I think they do that, because they never learned how, and they feel threatened if someone else is actually doing it.

    I would reccomend getting involved with people who are doing this. That’s what it took for me to started doing it. I actually went to http://www.thegreatnews.com and contacted my local leader through the website. It began the greatest adventure of my life.

    Bill

  4. timbob says:

    Greetings again. Great observation; one that ties in with much of whats been talked about in the blogs these last coupls of days. It’s amazing how we all seem to have the same sense of urgency about the same issues. Thanks for stopping by my site earlier. I’ll add you to the blogroll if its ok.
    have a great weekend in Christ:
    timbob

  5. billphillips says:

    Timbob,

    Thank you for your comment. It’s good to talk to you.

    Bill

  6. faithwalk says:

    Good straight forward thought! Love your tag line “On fire so that others won’t be!” Yes Lord Jesus, set our hearts on fire for You, and for those you died to save.

    Blessings!

    Susan

  7. Might I point out that in most states their is NO legal duty to save another. This has changed very slowly over the past few decades, but it is still the majority position with few exceptions.

    I know it isn’t considered a moral position, but it is the law for most states in the U.S.

  8. sprocket23 says:

    Bill,

    What, you didn’t tell him about the great bathroom at your church?

    (sorry, being a bit sarcastic there).

    Doesn’t it feel great to share the Gospel? Keep up the good work!

  9. Kullervo says:

    TT is right, by the way. As far as I know, at common law, there is no affirmative duty to act.

Leave a Reply

