I’m Tired of Excuses!

Most Christians act like they don’t believe the Bible.  The Bible is clear that there is a place of eternal torment, where the majority of humanity is going to end up.   

The vast majority of Christians apparently don’t care that a lot of the people they talk to every day are going to spend eternity in a lake of fire.  It’s like the parable of the Good Samaritan, except most Christians are the evil people who walked right past the victim.  We go walking right past someone who is bleeding and dying, and rarely even pause long enough to grace them with our pity. 

Ignoring dying people is hypocritical and evil.  You either believe in hell or you don’t.  You either care enough to do something or you don’t.  If you don’t care, you should consider the possibility that you really aren’t saved. 

Jesus told us to go into the entire world and preach the good news to all of creation (Mark 16:15).  He also said that if we love him, we will obey his teaching (John 14:23).  Are you really being obedient in spreading the gospel?   

What is your excuse for not witnessing?  It’s scary to talk to a stranger, but perfect love drives out fear.  It takes time to learn what to say, but we’re supposed to be ready with an answer to defend our faith (I Peter 3:15).  You may very well not have the gift of evangelism.  That doesn’t mean you’re excused.  There are certain things that it’s God’s will for us to do, and sharing our faith is one of them. 

God has chosen to use us in this manner, even though we’re far from perfect.  I learned how to witness from www.wayofthemaster.com, and it’s the Biblical method that Jesus, Paul, and the rest of them used, but at this point I’d be happy if Christians were doing anything other than just playing church.   Go to that website, and listen to “Hell’s Best Kept Secret.”  It’s free. 

If I can do this, anyone can.  I don’t think I have some special gift from God, just the love that He gives to all Christians, and enough love for Him to be obedient.  I hope I don’t come off sounding prideful.  Any ability that I have is from God.  I’m as angry at myself for missing too many opportunities, and wimping out too many times.  I repent of making excuses, and choose to do what will count for eternity. 

“He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me, scatters.” Luke 11:23

3 Responses to I’m Tired of Excuses!

  1. rjperalta says:

    That’s good !

    Keep up the good work!

    Be blessed,
    Richard

  2. We’re so soft about sin in this country. I think it’s because our country is soft, period. People don’t want to hear about hell and damnation! So as a church body, we’re so concerned with getting and keeping members, we don’t bring it up!

  3. rjperalta says:

    So true.
    We are very soft in this country (USA)
    But the good news is, that will change someday.
    It’s going to be hard to bare, but in the end it will do us all good.
    Maybe then we will find out what “community” is.

    Grace to you,
    Richard

Leave a Reply

