Hello!

“Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.” Mark 16:15

 Jesus told us to preach (which contrary to popular opinion, does involve actually opening our mouths) the good news.  I’m so grateful the early church was obedient to that command.  They suffered for it.  They were fed to lions, crucified and stoned.  They lived what we would consider to be miserable lives.

The majority of people in this world are the walking dead.  They’re born spiritually dead, and they’re going to spend eternity in hell.  Most Christians apparently don’t care enough to say anything to anyone.  After all, they might be called a name.

A Christian who is really courageous might invite someone to church.  Is this a wise move?  Do you want unsaved people in your church?  Isn’t the purpose of church to provide fellowship and edify believers?  If a non-Christian happens to find their way into church, that’s fine.  The pastor should be preaching in such a way that that person either gets saved, or gets offended and quits coming.

 Another popular way to share our faith is to become friends with people, to get their trust, and eventually, someday, hopefully, if they don’t die in the mean time, maybe explain the gospel to them.  I’m willing to admit that I’m scared to death to witness to my friends, family and neighbors.  Some of them really will get offended, and I will suffer the loss of their friendship.

 I’m guilty of being more concerned with myself, and what people think of me to the point of being too scared to talk to people.  I’m guilty of inviting unsaved people to church.  I’m guilty of not knowing what to say to people.  I went years as a Christian without ever witnessing to anyone.  I’ve only been witnessing to people for less than a year.  I wish someone would have taken me by the hand and showed me what to do.  I wish someone would have rattled my cage.  How many opportunities did I waste?

That is what I hope to do with this blog–rattle people’s cages.  I’m not necessarily shy, but I’m very quiet.  God gets all the glory from my new-found ability to walk up to a stranger and share the gospel with them.  I’m not capable of doing that on my own.  God has changed me, and given me a concern for the lost.  I still fail, and blow some opportunities, but hopefully I do that less and less as time goes on.

I encourage you to go to www.wayofthemaster.com, to learn how to Biblically share your faith.  “Hell’s Best Kept Secret” is free to listen to, and it’s revolutionary.  I had their whole spiel memorized for quite a while without ever having the guts to talk to someone.  One day, I went to www.thegreatnews.com, contacted my local leader, and stood next to someone while they witnessed, and then was pushed into talking to the next people.  That was around last Memorial Day, and it was the day I began the greatest adventure of my life.  Please be obedient to the great commission.   

Bill Phillips

2 Responses to Hello!

  1. rjperalta says:

    Brother,

    I just want to remind you, to make sure that you are speaking The Truth in Love when witnessing.
    Speak the Truth, yes but in Love.

    Grace to you,
    Richard

  2. billphillips says:

    Speaking the truth in love is certainly something I can improve in. If you’re talking about Way of the Master not being loving, I have to disagree. Jesus spoke with the woman at the well, and was very loving, but still used her conscience to convict her of her sin.

    I can’t think of anything more loving than to gently explain what people are going to face on Judgment Day, so that the gospel will make sense. Ray Comfort’s thing is “law to the proud, grace to the humble.” You can more or less tell who is proud, by asking if they consider themselves to be a good person. Almost everyone I’ve ever talked to says they’re good.

    I think it’s easy to be loving with the Ten Commandments, because I’m worried that they’re going to take a swing at me, so I’m usually extra kind when I’m going through the law with someone.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

